top of page
Search
Writer's pictureTapaswini Bhavanam

A Blank Slate - 8/30/2021

Updated: Sep 11, 2021

Hearing about ISM for the first time broke through my mental barrier, allowing me to re-imagine my big dreams. Toward the conclusion of middle school, I gradually began to persuade myself that my long-held aspirations and goals were unattainable and unrealistic.


My older sister was a senior in her first year of ISM when I was a freshman in high school. I observed the various tasks that she had to complete for the class and was so fascinated and eager to learn more about it. I gained a new perspective on my future and life in general because I began to believe that if I took this class, I could achieve all of my goals and ambitions. Since then, I've been preparing and planning to take the class throughout my junior and senior years of high school. So here I am in ISM, following my plan and taking the initial steps toward my ambitious dreams.


The first few weeks of ISM have been exhilarating while also putting my skills to the test. Despite the reality that school has only begun, I already feel as though I have learnt and accomplished so much in ISM. For the first few weeks of ISM, my ultimate focus was to determine if the topic of study that I chose was the appropriate one for me. Regardless of the fact that I haven't completely made up my mind, I have gained a lot of knowledge about Fashion Design through ISM so far since the class pushes us to always reflect about our topic. Setting up our linked-in accounts, designing our digital portfolios, and presenting our introduction speeches are some of the significant tasks that we had to complete in the class so far. Undertaking these assignments has already taught me a few professional skills, such as confidently speaking/presenting in front of audiences and developing a personal brand. I'm already captivated by the opportunities presented by ISM, and I can't wait to continue my Fashion Design research by doing interviews and eventually finding a mentor for greater hands-on exposure. In the coming weeks, I aim to arrange numerous interviews with fashion experts and expand my understanding of my field by conducting additional research.


74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page